Laws and Legislation (2024)

Laws and Legislation (1)

Forty-six states, the District of Columbia and four Canadian provinces currently offer some type of credential to professionals in the massage and bodywork field – usually licensure, certification or registration.

To view requirements click on a state or province listed below.

Note: Even if your state or province is listed here, check with city or county officials for information about local requirements and ordinances.

New JerseyNevada
New YorkNew Hampshire
North CarolinaNew Mexico
North DakotaOhio
PennsylvaniaRhode Island
South CarolinaSouth Dakota
WashingtonWashington D.C.
West VirginiaWisconsin

*For customers in the state of Indiana professional liability limits are increased to $2 million per occurrence and $6 million annual aggregate for massage therapy services only; General liability limits are increased to $2 million per occurrence and $8 million annual aggregate for massage therapy services only.

Massage Therapy State Licensing Requirements FAQs

How do you transfer a massage license from one state to another?

You will need to have proof of your current licensure and go through the process that your new state board sets for your location. Some states have immediate license reciprocity so all you’ll need to do is fill out some paperwork and usually pay a licensing fee to get your license transferred. Others have additional educational or testing requirements that will need to be met before you will be able to transfer your license. The best idea is to start as early as possible so that you have plenty of time to get all of these requirements taken care of.

What states use the MBLEX to get a massage license?

The Massage and Bodywork Licensing Examination (MBLEx) is currently the most widely accepted massage licensing examination accepted at the national level. Almost every state will accept or even require passing this standardized test for massage therapists in order to obtain a license. The MBLEx is considered the main entry-level licensing exam.

How many hours are required for a massage license in my state?

You can use our handy state information tool above to look up individual information on the state in which you plan on starting your massage service. Use this information as a resource, but always make sure to check in with your state board for the latest and most up-to-date information available. Requirements can change and you never want to miss a deadline that could delay initial licensure or renewal.

Are there any states that do not require a massage license to practice?

Wyoming, Minnesota, California, Kansas and Vermont are all states that do not require an actual license in order to provide services as a massage therapist. Minnesota is one state that does not currently have a state board for massage therapy but there are a number of local regulations and requirements that you should be aware of. It’s good practice to always make sure to check the individual requirements at both the state and local level for your location before you start offering services.

How many states have massage licensing or certification requirements?

There are only a handful of states that don’t have a licensing process for massage therapy, but within these there are local requirements that can dictate certification or educational requirements. The best path is to research what your individual location requirements are. We publish information we’ve gathered from state boards to help give you a start, but you should always check and make sure you have the most up-to-date information for your city and state before you start seeing clients.

What are the regulations for becoming a licensed massage therapist?

Almost every state has a minimum number of education hours from approved providers. From there, there’s usually a requirement to pass a recognized aptitude test such as the MBLEx, a registration process, and the paying of initial licensing fees. Most states have a state board for massage therapy which sets the individual requirements so always be sure to stay up to date with your state’s board.

Do states differ in their massage license renewal requirements?

Quick answer - absolutely. States vary significantly in a number of different aspects of getting your massage license. You will see different amounts of hours of education state boards require, the approved massage education providers that you can complete a program through, how much a license registration costs, how long the process takes, and a number of other variables. Be sure to check out your state board for the most up-to-date information on all things massage licensing in your state.

What states require massage continuing education?

Almost every state requires some amount of continuing education in order to renew your license; however, the requirements differ greatly. Some states, like Florida for example, have biennial requirements which means you will have to complete a certain amount of CEUs every two years in order to renew. Other state boards have annual CE requirements, some even have tri-annual requirements (once every three years). Make sure you know the exact requirements your state board has well ahead of any deadlines so you aren’t scrambling come renewal time.

Do massage licenses cost the same in each state?

Different state boards charge different registration fees and the overall cost of obtaining your license can vary based on the education program you undertake. For example, Indiana has a current registration fee of $100 and Massachusetts' registration will run you $225. License registration fees for massage therapists are set by the state board in your home state and can run on the low side around $100 to the high side of $400 depending on your chosen state. As far as education program costs, these vary widely but some of the most affordable options are offered through community colleges or vocational schools.

How long does it take to get a massage license in my state?

Most state boards require a certain number of education hours to be completed before you can register for a license. Massage schools vary in how long they take to complete and can depend on how many classes you take at a time. On average, going full-time to an accredited massage therapy school usually takes about eight or nine months to complete with part-time students taking a bit longer. Once you’ve successfully completed your program, you will still need to pass the MBLEx in most states and once that’s through, actually register for your license which can take 30 days or more. So all in, from starting school through getting a license, you are looking at around one year.

Is there a national registry of massage therapists?

There is no standard national registry for individual massage therapists but there are some professional organizations that maintain directories. For example, the National Certification Board for Therapeutic Massage & Bodywork has a directory for board-certified therapists who have progressed through their program.

Do you have to retake the MBLEx if you transfer your massage license?

If you have taken and passed the MBLEx, you usually will not have to retake it in order to transfer a license except for special cases like when a significant amount of time has passed since taking the exam. Some states have additional education requirements that may need to be met along with other steps in the registration process which will all need to be completed prior to getting your massage license in a new state. The best way to be prepared is to check with your new state board well ahead of your anticipated move date and to start nailing down each of their unique requirements well ahead of any deadlines.

How do you find approved massage therapy education providers in your state?

Most state boards have a list of approved massage therapy education providers published on their website and we’ve also listed a number of these within our state licensing information published above. If you can’t find the information you’re looking for or are ever unsure, it’s far better to contact your state board and get confirmation that the program you are looking into is fully accredited so that your hours will count towards your licensing requirements.

Are local regulations listed on state boards for massage therapy websites?

Local regulations are not readily listed on state boards' websites since these vary based on each and every jurisdiction within the state. Check your city or municipal authority to see what kind of regulations they have for a new massage therapist. There can be tax or business registration requirements, registering with emergency services, and even massage insurance requirements that all need to be met before you open your doors and start seeing new clients.

Laws and Legislation (2024)


Laws and Legislation? ›

Legislation refers to the preparation and enactment of laws by a legislative body through its lawmaking

Lawmaking in modern democracies is the work of legislatures, which exist at the local, regional, and national levels and make such laws as are appropriate to their level, and binding over those under their jurisdictions. › wiki › Lawmaking
process. The legislative process includes evaluating, amending, and voting on proposed laws and is concerned with the words used in the bill to communicate the values, judgments, and purposes of the proposal.

What is the difference between legislation and law? ›

The main difference between them lies in their origin. In government, the legislative branch of government – Congress, state senates and assemblies – create and pass legislation, which upon signature by a governor become law.

What are some examples of laws or legislation? ›

Landmark Legislation
  • The District of Columbia Compensated Emancipation Act.
  • The Pacific Railway Act of 1862.
  • The Thirteenth Amendment.
  • The Fourteenth Amendment.
  • The Fifteenth Amendment.
  • Civil Rights Act of 1875.
  • The Seventeenth Amendment to the Constitution.

What are 5 laws in the US? ›

5 Important Laws In The US
  • Civil Rights Act (1964):
  • Voting Rights Act (1965)
  • Medicare and Medicaid acts (1965)
  • National Defense Education Act (1958)
  • Economic Recovery Tax Act (1981)
Mar 11, 2022

What is the legislative of the laws? ›

All legislative power in the government is vested in Congress, meaning that it is the only part of the government that can make new laws or change existing laws. Executive Branch agencies issue regulations with the full force of law, but these are only under the authority of laws enacted by Congress.

How does legislation become law? ›

Bills which require money or which take effect immediately require 27 votes in the Senate and 54 votes in the Assembly. All other bills require 21 votes in the Senate and 41 votes in the Assembly. Once the house of origin approves the bill, it proceeds to the other house where steps 1-5 are repeated.

Is legislation also called common law? ›

The term "common law", referring to the body of law made by the judiciary, is often distinguished from statutory law and regulations, which are laws adopted by the legislature and executive respectively.

What is the most common form of legislation? ›

The vast majority of legislative proposals are in the form of bills. Bills deal with domestic and foreign issues and programs, and they also appropriate money to various government agencies and programs.

What are 3 examples of common laws? ›

Common law is based on all previous legal rulings made by judges in a common law court. Examples of such rulings are common law requirements for people to read contracts, doctor-patient confidentiality, copyright, and common law marriage.

What is basic legislation examples? ›

An example of basic legislation is a statue designed to set the speed limit on the highway within a particular state.

What is the most broken law in America? ›

The poll of 5,000 people revealed speeding as the most common crime, with forty-six percent (46%) of people admitting to driving over the speed limit. Judging from personal experience, this seems a bit low. Another forty percent (40%) text or talk while driving while thirty-six percent (36%) drop litter.

What is the most basic law in the United States? ›

The Constitution is the supreme law of the land in the United States. Learn more about our founding document. The Constitution of the United States of America is the supreme law of the United States.

What does the 14th Amendment say? ›

No State shall make or enforce any law which shall abridge the privileges or immunities of citizens of the United States; nor shall any State deprive any person of life, liberty, or property, without due process of law; nor deny to any person within its jurisdiction the equal protection of the laws.

What are some examples of legislation? ›

Legislative Histories
  • Administrative Procedure Act (Public Law 79-404 )
  • American Indian Trust Fund Management Reform Act of 1994 (Public Law 103-412)
  • Anti Car Theft Act of 1992 (Public Law 102-519)
  • Antitrust Civil Process Act (Public Law 87-664)
  • Antitrust Procedures and Penalties Act (Tunney Act) (Public Law 93-528)
Jul 27, 2023

What are the four types of legislation? ›

Legislation Numbering

A proposed piece of legislation takes one of four forms: bill, joint resolution, concurrent resolution, or simple resolution.

What are legislative rules? ›

The three basic types are: Legislative (sometimes called “substantive”) Rules. These are rules that implement a statute. They have the force and effect of law; that is, they are legally binding on the agency, the public, and the courts.

What is the difference between law and regulation? ›

Laws are passed by both branches of Congress and signed by the President. Laws establish requirements or prohibitions. Regulations are published by executive branch agencies to clarify their interpretation of a law and how a law will be implemented. Regulations also state requirements or prohibitions.

What is the difference between constitutional law and legislative law? ›

Legislation is what makes/ writes the laws and makes them go into effect. Constitution is what maintains and continues the use of the laws.

What is the purpose of a legislature? ›

Among other powers, the legislative branch makes all laws, declares war, regulates interstate and foreign commerce and controls taxing and spending policies.

What is the difference between legal and law? ›

Key Differences:

Law: Encompasses the entire system of rules and regulations governing a society. Legal: Describes anything associated with or conforming to the law.

Top Articles
Latest Posts
Article information

Author: Roderick King

Last Updated:

Views: 5870

Rating: 4 / 5 (51 voted)

Reviews: 90% of readers found this page helpful

Author information

Name: Roderick King

Birthday: 1997-10-09

Address: 3782 Madge Knoll, East Dudley, MA 63913

Phone: +2521695290067

Job: Customer Sales Coordinator

Hobby: Gunsmithing, Embroidery, Parkour, Kitesurfing, Rock climbing, Sand art, Beekeeping

Introduction: My name is Roderick King, I am a cute, splendid, excited, perfect, gentle, funny, vivacious person who loves writing and wants to share my knowledge and understanding with you.